Currently Reading: Jesus the King by Timothy Keller

2

Timothy Keller - Jesus the KingI’ve been feeling lightheaded lately with all the “light” reading that I’ve been doing these past several weeks. And so I went to the local bookstore and picked up a book to move me towards more theological thinking. I picked up Timothy Keller’s Jesus the King: Understanding the Life and Death of the Son of God¹. On the back cover, we find that Newsweek had called Keller a “C. S. Lewis for the twenty-first century” and this particular work of his does not disappoint. I’ve read a third of the book now and it’s an excellent mix of theological formation and spiritual nourishment. The book moves through the gospel of Mark recounting the life of Jesus with deep theological insights and pastoral counsel for personal application. Keller’s writing is surprisingly easy to follow (it’s my first book by the author) but is in no way an indication of a lack of deep content. If you want to broaden your understanding of the gospels’ theology, cultural references, and implications, then this book is an excellent starting point.

¹Keller, Timothy. Jesus the King: Understanding the Life and Death of the Son of God. New York, NY: Riverhead Books, 2011.

Are there any good books that you’ve been reading lately?

Leave a comment

See other books here: Currently Reading

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading: Jesus the King by Timothy Keller

  1. My TK book was Generous Justice. I don’t think it was his best, but I totally understand you when you say ‘surprisingly easy to follow…but in no way an indication of a lack of deep content. ‘ Can’t wait to read more of this guy, thanks for the reco! :)

    • I think it was P. Ro who introduced me to Keller. I believe Keller is one of his favorite speakers. I will no doubt pick up another book by this author after this one.

Leave a Comment

