Currently Reading: The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

Charles Duhigg - The Power of HabitHaving studied management in university, I’ve become accustomed to reading books on leadership, business, marketing, and productivity. These topics interest me greatly and business books comprise the largest chunk of material that I read at home. Why would a pastor read books on management? You’ll have to tell me. Last night, I began reading The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business¹ by Charles Duhigg. It’s hard to miss the bright yellow jacket that envelopes the book and the natural interest that is sparked with just the simple word, habit.

The premise of the book is simple. Our lives are filled with numerous habits that came into place over a period of time. The book explores how those habits came to be, how they operate, and the possibilities of shaping habits to change ourselves in positive ways. After reading the preface of the book last night, I found myself itching to get to the first chapter. However, my sleeping habits beckoned me to put the book down in lieu of an early meeting the next day.

¹Duhigg, Charles. The Power of Habit: Why We Do What We Do in Life and Business. Canada: Doubleday Canada, 2012.

Leave a comment

See other books here: Currently Reading

Leave a Comment

