The Sunday Project: Refer back to the passage

The Sunday Project is a series of tasks that are designed to improve your preaching skills by focusing on just one particular idea of preaching.

This project will target: CLARITY

As I’ve mentioned several times in this blog, the main task of the preacher is to declare to people what God has already revealed to us in His Word.

The best way to show that what you’re saying comes from the Bible is by referring back to the passage—literally re-reading portions of the assigned text. I’m constantly astounded by how many preachers stop short at reviewing verses believing that reading the entire passage at the beginning of the sermon is enough. As a preacher, you want to explicitly show your congregation that your points are coming from the Word of God. There’s no better way to do that than by constantly referring back to your passage.

I use a simple formula to convey to people that what I’m saying comes from the Bible:

(1) I begin by stating a key point.

(2) I read the Biblical verses that are related to the key point.

(3) I explain how I arrived at the key point from those verses.

(4) I state the key point once again.

I use this method for every key point that I deliver in a sermon. With this formula, I am able to clearly show to people that what I’m saying comes from the Word of God and not from me. Now you give it a try this week.

Let us know how it goes in the comments section!

Leave a comment

See other projects here: The Sunday Project

Leave a Comment

